Ford Transit Connect Forum

Passengers seats or Cargo????

Howdy folks... I am new here and planning to purchase a Transit Connect in the next few months. I am looking at Cargo TC's!   One main requirement is that it has to be RED!  There seems to be a plethora of WHITE TC's and a very few RED!  I have found a RED one in a passenger TC tho....  Which leads me to this question.

If I purchased a passenger TC... are the seats easy to remove... AND if removed...  will the deck be as flat as the Cargo van?

The reason why... I have this requirement and the questions...

I am a professional Santa and intend to make this my SLEIGH... therefor the RED.  As for the cargo van...  I often bring a small sound system and from time to time, a magic stage table or two.  I also perform Magic and Balloon shows during the summer.  I am concerned that if I bought the passenger TC, the folded seats would make it 8 inches or so, higher than the cargo van deck,  to load my magic equipment into it, possibly straining my back.  For the most part, during the summer months I carry several large bags of inflated balloons to parties making the cargo van  perfect and it has the lower floor for lifting heavier items into.

So... since I can't seem to find a RED XLT Cargo van easily...  I might have to settle for the RED XLT passenger TC and remove the seats for the lower loading deck.   I would not need the seats for any reason.

Enjoy your awesome day today!

Santa Ralph

Seems to me a lot depends on the van length as to how easy it is to remove the seats? Short wheel base, they pop right out, but the longer models are all bolted down. Even then not so bad, unless the bolts have corroded into the floor. There's also some locator pegs that can put up a fight after you get the bolts out.

This looks like a decent writeup on floor mods you might need to make on the newer models ...