Ford Transit Connect Forum

2018 vs 2019

STAGEO

Looking to purchase my first Transit Connect and I have the opportunity to buy a brand new 2018 at a very decent price. I have zero experience with this generation of Ford 4-cylinders, but I hear nothing but good things about the 2.5. I'm not terribly worried about nominal power/fuel economy differences between the 2.0 and the 2.5...my only concern being durability, reliability and ease of repair. I want the engine that will last me the longest.

That said, would I be better served with the  2.0 or should I jump on the 'last' of the new 2.5s? Sorry if this has been asked before and I did search before starting a new thread. Thanks much for the insight!

2019 has new engine and transmission.  For some people, the first year that anything comes out is a "no-no".  That's like the actual filed trial.  Now they can figure out what needs to be corrected with Technical Service Bulletins and Recalls.  So you may get something loaded with issues that will not be corrected for years down the line.

If you have the opportunity drive both.  That will tell you what you want to know.  If you do  please report I am excited to know a real world comparison of the performance difference.

At one point I will test drive a 2019 just to see .  As I have made the last payment on the 2014 last month I am going to take a Rest from the payment race.

I decided to purchase the 2018 with the 2.5 for the exact reason Fifty stated which is i didn't want something that's in it's first year of production .  I have been very pleased with the 2018 with the 2.5 .  I also much preferred the "Fog lamp" design in the 2018's and previous models i did not like the subtle design changes on the 2019 , i also did not like the dash changes on the 2019 .