Ford Transit Connect Forum

Auto Trans Issues Ever Corrected by Ford?

DrewSC

Hey I'm new to the TC world.....here in California we only have gas powered TCs with auto transmissions.  I've read a lot about how the TCs are prone to early transmission failure with the automatics.  Is this only certain years?  Did Ford ever correct or improve the issue?  Anything that can be done to correct the issue on a TC that has already had the transmission fail?  I'm looking at buying a TC with a bad transmission, I just don't want to buy it and invest into it if there is no solution to this problem.  Thanks for your help and advise!

Depends on the year. 2013 onwards (new shape) is good enough. The 6F35 transmission can be upgraded with stronger components during repair and if you change the fluid often enough it should be trouble free. Unlike Ford's description the transmission is not service-free with "lifetime fluid". It's regular Mercon LV (50K miles max).

First generation uses Focus engine/transmission and it's obviously too weak for the size of the car so you could expect more trouble but there have also been reports of very high mileage with original bits.

If you don't overload the van, and service the transmission, you can expect a reasonable service life.  Automatic transmissions don't last forever.  But no reason to expect less than 100,000 miles.  I have seen hundreds of thousands of miles.  

Only problem is with a used car, you can expect that the last owner did not change the ATF, and the van may have been overloaded.  

You hear about reported failure. You don't hear about vans that keep working, because those people rarely speak up to say, "it still runs".  

Some forum members are changing ATF at 30,000 miles.  FordTechMakULoco on YouTube, who a lot of people look to for advice, also recommends 30,000 miles for the 6F35 transmission.  My local dealership service advisor said 30,000 miles.  

Some owners will do it every 25,000 miles.