Ford Transit Connect Forum

converting a transit for camping

roadlover

I am pondering buying one or these to convert. Have been looking for a used VW Van/camper, since 191 they are all used, too many miles and size limitations,way over valued for illogical reasons, but with a popup you can stand in them.

Is there somenone out there who has done this and had good results, what challenges. I am a woodworker so can build anything to go inside.

thanks, Roadlover

• 1 month later...

I am pondering buying one or these to convert. Have been looking for a used VW Van/camper, since 191 they are all used, too many miles and size limitations,way over valued for illogical reasons, but with a popup you can stand in them.

Is there somenone out there who has done this and had good results, what challenges. I am a woodworker so can build anything to go inside.

thanks, Roadlover

Im also considering a purchase for this reason. Two reasons I havent already made a purchase is because I havent seen any tops "popped." I would like to know that is possible before I make a purchase, that head room will make a world of difference. Second, I am very interested in the CNG/LGP bi-fuel option. It would be great to use the CNG around town and as a back up when traveling long distances. Hopefully you get some responses.

P

I camp in my T.C. but without a pop-up. I am afraid the corrugations on the roof would make any after market installation a problem. I'd like to put a vent up there.

I also looked at old VW buses. They are just so simple and look like a lot of fun. You are right though about the prices being beyond belief. They are all very well used also and most I've seen suffer extensive rust in the sub-frame area.

• 1 month later...

thanks, Roadlover

No pop-ups but there are these

Edited by Bikesnbreakdowns

• 2 months later...
  • 2 months later...